Breast Cancer Has Turned Me Into a Bitch

I’ve gotten plenty of emails from breast cancer survivors stating those exact words!    You can blame the steroids all through treatment, but after treatment,  I think the more accurate explanations would be these:

Breast Cancer brought much clarity into my life.

I’m no longer afraid to say what I think.

I do not tolerate or call people friends who only use me for their personal gain.

My anger does not get suppressed any more as I am learning to express it.

I now recognize when others are trying to manipulate me.

My opinions matter, and I’m not afraid to state how I feel.

Add yours:  ___________________________________

When we exhibit these new behaviors, we often think we are a “bitch” because we don’t have a better word to describe it.   For some, these behaviors are totally foreign.

“Who is this person?” you wonder.

You are a new, emotionally healthier version of your former self, that’s who!  Rejoice in it!  Many people never have the opportunity to learn these valuable life lessons!

7 thoughts on “Breast Cancer Has Turned Me Into a Bitch

  1. Yep. That’s me. You can add my name to the list of bitches. I am now more particular about with whom I spend my time. On a positive note, I have some closer relationships in my life. These are people I was close to before, but now even more so. Conversely, I have some people who vanished, and I just don’t make contact.
    I also learned some things about myself. One thing I learned was that I am not a bitch. What I mean by that was that I would get in a disagreement with my sons or husband and I was the bitch, it was sort of a pattern or dynamic we got into. Now, I say NO, you are not drawing me into that drama. That is very good.

  2. I was always one of those people who was too afraid to say what they really think, in case I made someone mad at me. I was a major people-pleaser. Now, I let it fly! I’m not rude about it, but I’m definitely less afraid to let people know what I really think and feel. Also, I laugh a lot more than I used to. :)

Leave a Reply

