An Honor Bestowed Upon Me by Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

Out of the blue I got a telephone call last week informing me that I was chosen for a great honor.  Every year the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Northwest Ohio selects a breast cancer survivor as their “In Celebration Of” honoree and a person who died from breast cancer as their “In Memory Of” honoree for the Toledo, Ohio race.   This year Komen Northwest Ohio chose me for the “In Celebration Of” honoree.   They said that I was “chosen from many worthy candidates based on your courageous fight against breast cancer and the way with which you inspire those around you every day.”

This is the Survivor Parade that I participated in the last two years.  Each year post-treatment that I have walked in it, I cry from all the emotions and gratitude I feel.  This year, I will be leading the Survivor Parade and all of these amazing women!

cropped-komen-race-walkers.jpg

My friend, Anita Conley, and my Aunt Marian Gladieux, nominated me.  Anita asked for my permission to nominate me in early Spring.  Honestly, I was extremely touched she wanted to do it and took the time to do it, but it never even occurred to me that I would be the person selected.  And my Aunt Marian never told me of her nomination.  So I was totally surprised!

Quietly and one-on-one,  I do “my breast cancer work” on my laptop from my home office or couch,  all times of the day or night.  Being publicly recognized is a little overwhelming!  However, I am deeply honored to participate as it will allow me to get the word out on everything I have learned in my own breast cancer journey, my mom’s new breast cancer journey, and all that you, my readers and friends, have taught me!    It is a great opportunity to have a greater voice to tell women “get your mammograms” “do  self-exams” and give them the statistics why.   Plus, it will allow me to give those recently diagnosed more hope and encouragement.

The Toledo, Ohio  the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure is Sunday, September 28, 2014.  Here you can find a Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure near you:    http://ww5.komen.org/findarace.aspx

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “An Honor Bestowed Upon Me by Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

  1. Congratulations! Yes, you have helped so many people; and we all are blessed to hv found out about you! May God bless you always:)

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Congratulation Denise! Plus a BIG THANK YOU! Thank you for helping me and many more like me. U are my inspiration through my Chemo and Radiation.

  3. Congratulations Denise…u r a well deserved recipient, u hav reached out to so many of the sisters with yr inspirational stories, and gentle necessary information…I’m glad I stumbled upon yr wonderful blog site last April2013…I don’t even remember how I found u!? Be well…Kelly-Downunder [14 month since diagnosis…feeling much more myself :-)

  4. Hi Denise, How did I know that, besides receiving a great honor, you would see a wonderful opportunity to continue to spread the word.  I believe God had a hand in choosing you to be Komen Woman of the Year because of your great compassion and ability to care about other human beings.  I can’t think of anyone more deserving. Love ya, Auntie M

  5. I am so happy for you Denise!! They could not have chosen anyone more deserving than you with all you do to inspire others. You are also MY inspiration. I would love to go to that but it would be more like crawl. I don’t even go to the MS walk anymore because last time they had to pick me up with a golf cart! Thanks to Marian for nominating you!

  6. Thank you ALL for your wonderful, supportive comments! I appreciate it so very much! My goal is always to give others understanding and support on Breast Cancer Road. It makes me so happy to know I have accomplished that and gives me even more incentive to keep at it!
    Thanks, again!! Love, Denise

  7. Denise,
    You should be honored! I thank God for you and your open heart of sharing, compassion and encouragement. You were my lifeline during my RED DEVIL treatment and I will be forever grateful. We have never “met” but I hold you near to my heart. I am so happy that you have been honored. You help so many thru your blogs and emails. Congratulations:)

Leave a Reply

