Diagnosis is Official

I have Breast Cancer – Invasive Ductal Carcinoma to be exact.  There, I said it for the very first time.  I heard it over and over today.  I cannot live in denial any longer.  I need a mastectomy, chemotherapy, and radiation in that order.  You try to be strong, and you feel like fainting.  But after all of this news delivered by Dr. Tara Breslin, University of Michigan breast surgeon, she looked me in the eye and said “WE CAN CURE YOU” and hope was born!

Later I found out my Cancer is Stage III one stray cancer cell away from Stage IV.  How grateful I am…

2 thoughts on “Diagnosis is Official

  1. I have the same diagnosis, as of October 5, 2012. My predominant thought hasn’t never been how grateful I am that I’m not Stage IV. Somehow, I can’t find that in myself. But hearing it makes me pause and think, “How can I turn my thinking around?”

    • Thank you so much for your honesty. Everyone thought I was Stage IV including me.
      It changed my thought process! The other thing that helped me change my thoughts about
      having 14 nodes removed and 9 of the nodes were “active” was this. I have read some women
      are Stage IV with no node involement. Their nodes never “caught” the cancer, doing their
      job. That helped how I think about my node involvement and Lymphedema and all that other stuff.
      It’s all so hard. When you can find any gratitude, it helps! Thanks so much for sharing! Denise

Leave a Reply

