I am not going to die from Breast Cancer.

I have made up my mind and am determined.

The above line was written on October 23, 2011, one week after diagnosis. Update:  Today’s date is September 1, 2012 – I have now been through Mastectomy with Lymph Node Dissection, have finished 5 months of Chemotherapy, 7 weeks of Radiation, 3 months of Herceptin, due to Herceptin, I had heart damage, so I am on hold while the Cardiologist helps heal my heart, etc.    I can honestly say I still feel the same way as I did when I wrote the first line.   I have made up my mind and am determined I am not going to die from Breast Cancer – at least not in the next 20 years.

I met a woman at Chemo Infusion today.  We started talking.  Her name is Nancy.  Nancy appears to be in her mid to late 60s.  Nineteen, yes 19 years ago, Nancy was given less than 6 months to live by an Oncologist.  Her breast cancer had spread to her bones in multiple places and she was then Stage IV.  She said at the moment she made up her mind that she was not going to die from Breast Cancer.   She changed Oncologists and went to the University of Michigan for treatment.  Her Medical Oncologist became Daniel F. Hayes, M.D., who is also my Oncologist.  Dr. Hayes gave her hope and treatment options.     And she has had alot of treatment, but 19 YEARS LATER, she is still hopeful and going strong!

Check out my new ONLINE STORE:   cropped-cropped-cropped-logofb.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

