Preparing for Mastectomy

If you are reading this for yourself or a family or friend, I have learned alot in a very short time.  My mastectomy is 3 1/2 weeks away.  Preparing emotionally is the biggest hurdle.  As one Stage IV breast cancer survivor who had a lumpectomy said, “Losing a breast must take alot of mourning.”  And it does.But, it is amazing how much more detached you can become when you realize that loss will save your life.  You still cry and mourn, but you begin to start looking toward healing.

Here are some very practical matters about mastectomy.  I sobbed as I looked through my closet.   Never did I think I wore provocative or revealing clothing.  But only about 4 of my tops would work post-mastectomy.  Most everything else is too low cut.  So I began by taking out everything that would not work.  There wasn’t much left.  So trying to focus on the positive, I divided my closet for the new.   Then I went online and bought about 8 tops that were on sale, but that would work with the rest of my wardrobe.  That helps tremendously as one by one they arrive.  The other thing is you need loose-fitting button front cotton blouses to wear for the first several weeks after surgery.  I did not have anything like that and didn’t want to spend alot of money on something that would have a short closet life for me.  So I went to Goodwill.  As I walked into Goodwill, the clerk was wheeling out a rack of clothing.  I looked through it.  On it were 5 button up the front cotton blouses of a great name brand that didn’t look worn in a size larger than I wear.   Tears welled up from my soul as I thought of the woman who finally cleaned out her closet and dropped it off at the Goodwill.  Little did she know how much it would cheer a woman awaiting a mastectomy.

Please see my other Mastectomy posts to help prepare before, during and after surgery.  Also, I started a new online store.  Currently, I have a breast pillow/seat belt cover that is AMAZING!  I still use it!   Click on image!

BreastBuddy1

2 comments

Leave a Reply

