Emotional Meltdown days with Breast Cancer

Yesterday was an emotional meltdown day.  It was the worst of them for me.  I felt like everything came crashing down on me, and my coping skills were totally evaporated.  So an old friend called me who has known me since the 5th grade.  She knows how independent, stubborn and self-sufficient I am.  In no uncertain terms she told me, “Denise, you cannot do your own surgery!”   And then, “You have to ask your friends to help.  They want to help, and you need help.  I know that is hard for you to hear, but it is what you need to do.”

I didn’t take her words lightly.  This is an old, proven and very trusted friend who loves me and has my best interests at heart.  It was God speaking to me through her. 

So today I started asking for help.  I looked at what things I were making me feel overwhelmed.  Learning the post-mastectomy exercises were too demanding for me, so I called a friend who has exercised faithfully for years.  She was thrilled I asked her help.   Then I called friends and asked them if they would give me rides when I need them and come pick me up and take me out of the house after surgery!   Again, they really wanted to help!   Suddenly, my burdens were lifted.  The world became a brighter place.  And many mini-miracles happened to me throughout the day.

The downword spiral had turned around.  Lesson learned.  I needed help and help arrived.

Remember to ask for help.  God will meet your needs!

 

2 thoughts on “Emotional Meltdown days with Breast Cancer

    • Melinda, thank you so much for your thoughts, prayers and hugs! It is
      humbling to know that people you’ve never met are praying for you!
      Thank you so much! I feel all of the prayers!

Leave a Reply

