First Chemotherapy Infusion and What to Take To Chemo

Well, I survived my first chemotherapy infusion.  Truly it was the most frightening and anxious day I’ve ever had in my life.  My Oncologist says everyone says that same thing.  It must be true.  You just don’t know what to expect.  It was better than I thought it would be.  Somehow I had this image they would hook you up to these bags like in a 1960s horror movie and let you sit out in the waiting room!  Instead they took me back to a plush lazy-boy type chair with a television, other chemo patients divided yet visible with curtains – like a small ER room – with a nurses station in the center.  It was warm and cozy and medical.  They look like they knew what they were doing.

My nurse was amazing!  And she lived in my city and commutes 3 days a week the 60 mile commute.  And guess what?  She ended up to be the first cousin of one of my sister’s best friends in the town I grew up in!  Now that just doesn’t happen.  God’s provision and comfort.

She said we will give you a little Ativan to calm you down.  I said, “Hey, why weren’t they giving me that at 7:30 am this morning?”

So it took 2.5 hours to get the infusion.  Some of it had to be personally done. Nurse Julie had to don cap, gown and gloves to protect herself from injecting it into you as that drug can’t be done by drip.  That’s all I can tell you.  I am trying to block the rest out of my brain.

Have more compassion on anyone who is going through chemotherapy.  I’ve never had enough I realize now.  I had no idea what it is like, and no idea of the fear that you experience before Chemo begins.    I wish they would change the name.  Chemotherapy is a 1940s word.  If you have an idea of a new name, let me know!  Maybe I can start a petition!!

If this is disjointed, it is because I am.  But I am doing well.  No nausea, a few weird little side effects, but nothing major.  I am hoping it stays that way.

If you wonder what to take to your first Chemotherapy infusion, you really don’t need much.  The hospital provided me with warm blankets and had bagels, juices, and some other snacks on hand.  I took some snacks, but ended up not eating them.

Leave a Reply

