Chemo Cutting Your Hair Off

Well, it came to the point every woman dreads when she gets the cancer diagnosis.  It is less stressful to have your hair cut off than it is to worry about large, longer clumps coming out in the shower.  You always imagine this day.  It is worse than you imagine in some ways, and better in other ways. 

It is a frigid January day.  Not conducive to cutting your hair off to 1 inch long.  Thank God my beloved niece is a noted and desired stylist.  She just didn’t shave it off.  It looks cute in a naked sort of way.  It struck me how confident women are who wear their hair short.  My hair wasn’t that long – chin length or a little longer – but I obviously took comfort in my hair as most women do. 

After it was over, I looked at myself.  A stranger peered back at me.  I have lost my identity.  Really, I have no idea who I am.  In many ways I am far more beautiful than I’ve ever been as the strength shines forth from me.  I see it.  Others see it.  But in so many other ways, the pure weakness comes forth.  I think of that scripture  in 2 Corithians 12:9 –

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me
Leave a Reply

