New Opportunities after Breast Cancer

I remember the minute I started this Blog.  It was about one hour after I got home from my official Breast Cancer Diagnosis on October 17, 2011. Intuitively, I knew this journey was bigger than I was.  I knew I needed to help others while helping myself and that it was necessary to chronicle my experiences.  If I did not, I knew I would never have the courage to make it through the daunting treatments.  Writing this Blog has been so healing to me not only in being free to express my emotions and experiences, but because hundreds of women from all over the world have written to me and told me how I have helped them because “I understood”.   That is certainly a great reward.

Sometimes life hands you some pleasant and unexpected surprises.  Several months ago, an editor at Ladies Home Journal happened upon one of my Blog articles.  It was through a series of coincidences that seems like only heavenly intervention could make a reality.  Now one of my articles is being printed in the October, 2012 issue of Ladies Home Journal.  I am thrilled!

On a beautiful July evening, Ladies Home Journal sent out an amazing Chicago Photographer, Greg Ruffing,  to take photographs of me.  What an experience!  I felt like America’s Next Top Model Older Version!  It was fun, exciting and tiring.  Those models work hard I discovered!   It was a 3 hour photo shoot!   I changed clothing and everything!  Plus, although it was 85 degrees, I had to dress like it was October.  Oh, well, it was worth every bead of sweat!

I am rejoicing for this opportunity.  It has always been a desire of my heart to be published in a national magazine!  And now it is happening in the magazine issue one year after my diagnosis.  God gives us unexpected gifts when we need them the most.  My heart is full of gratitude!

5 comments

  1. Oh, Denise, I am so very proud of you – I just knew this was going to happen to you someday as you have such a gift for writing!! And, your blogs have been such an inspiration and learning experience for so many – take it from one who knows.
    Congratulations on this wonderful news!!! God bless and be with you always my precious friend.
    Love always,
    Connie

  2. I am so glad that your words will reach a larger audience via this magazine. Congratulations. You are a very insightful, clear, straightforward writer. I’m so glad I found your blog — I was searching for “chemo hair loss” : your description of your experience with it snapped me out of my teary mood. You are ahead of me in the treatment process and your depiction of the road ahead is so helpful. Thank you.

  3. Jeanie, I am so grateful my words helped you! That is my true goal to help others. Now that I am nearing the end of the initial treatment road, I can tell you that you can do it. I don’t say that lightly because so often you feel you just won’t be able to make it through. But YOU CAN!! Please feel free to contact me anytime via email at b4Denise@hotmail.com If I can help you on your journey in any way, I would be grateful. Denise

Leave a Reply

