Cancer Free Stories: There is Always HOPE…do not give up!

Perhaps you just “happened” upon my Blog as you were just diagnosed with a late stage cancer and the Oncologist gave you little hope; or perhaps you feel like quitting Chemotherapy because it is such a grueling road.  Please read these women’s stories!

I received these two emails from women over Thanksgiving to tell me their amazing gifts of being CANCER FREE.  Their stories will give you courage, hope and encouragement!  Both of them had very aggressive cancers and were given grim prognoses by their Oncologists.   I KNOW YOU WILL CELEBRATE WITH ME AND THEM AFTER YOU READ THEIR STORIES!!!

from Rozane on November 21, 2012:  (Rozane was diagnosed in late March, 2012 with Stage 3C – Grade 3 breast cancer.  10 nodes removed.  9 cancerous ones.  And two that were inoperable that were cancerous, with veins of cancer into the chest wall.  She is  HER2 +, ER- and PR slightly + – her cancer was very aggressive.)

Dear Denise – I made it!!  My PET/CT scan came out clean!! 
Am beating it, so far.  My oncologist only gave me 10% chance back in April, 2012. At the PET and CT scans…they could not believe what they were seeing.  NO cancer.  NONE left in me.  The tech guy told my husband they were looking at my scans extra hard.  Because they could not believe what they were seeing.

Went into my oncology office for the results and he was shocked.  hahah.  I looked him right in the eyes and said “You were not expecting that, were you!?” and he said no, he was not.  Was a huge shock.  With me he was expecting to keep treating me until the cancer finally over-took me…

They will be checking my tumor markers in blood work every three months and doing regular blood work on me every three weeks (when I go in for herceptin) and then will do another PET and CT scan next summer to see how I’m doing inside. 
I’m scared.  Very scared.  But I’m a fighter and will not give up.  And I’ll do everything I can to keep it away. I’m about to leave for a radiation treatment, my last one, but you have been on my mind so very much and I wanted to get on here and tell you. THANK YOU for all you do.  I hope all is well with you!!  You are in my thoughts a lot!
When I wrote to Rozane to ask if I could include her story in my Blog, this is how she answered:
Hi Denise – Of course!!  Please do let others know there is always hope.  NEVER ever ever give up!  Never.  Fight!  Believe and fight for your life! 
I truly believe that some of my success was giving up sugars.  I read somewhere that 30% of all cancers, including breast cancer, are insulin receptor positive (yet, they do not test for this!!  WHY?).  I feel I weakened the cancer, allowing the chemo drugs to get in there and beat it better.
I gave myself hope and I believed.  I changed my life style on what I ate and I did not give up.  No matter how awful I felt during the treatments.  I remember one time laying on the couch during a chemo week and thinking “This is it..I am going to die right here…..”
I was feeling so awfully bad. I looked up at the wall and there were the photos of my sons and I looked at them and said “I WILL NOT die!  I WILL NOT give up!!”  I was laying there, not even able to move, tears running down my face and fighting for my life. 

from Yolanda on Thanksgiving Day, 2012: (note: Yolanda was diagnosed Thanksgiving, 2011 with Stage 4 breast cancer, also Grade 3 which is the most aggressive Grade)

I am so thankful today for everything God has blessed me with. My family and friends, my health, my education, career and a whole host of other things. God blessed me with some really great news today, something I wanted but did not expect to receive…..I have to share just how good God is….This time last year the day before Thanksgiving, I was diagnosed with stage IV grade 3 breast cancer that had metastasized. This year the day before Thanksgiving I am completely cancer free and God has blessed me and my Family ten fold. I am truly amazed by what God has done for us!!!!!!!

and this followup from Yolanda:

Denise, Thank you so much for including me in your blog. I am a walking talking testimony. This was my second go around with cancer Stage 0 the first time and 4 short years later stage IV. Now that I am cancer free I have learned to embrace life, enjoy it and truly go for what I want in life. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us. I recently shocked everyone at my job and went for a management position  that I got and then within a month was promoted again. I have also learned not to take my family or myself for granted, I compliment someone everyday and smile often.

How these stories bring us hope and encouragement!  Thank you, Rozane and Yolanda!!   You have given many the courage to go on and keep up the fight!

6 comments

  1. Wow, congratulations Rozane and Yolanda, that’s amazing news!
    Rozane, the bit about giving up sugar has struck a chord with me. I am 30 and fortunately my breast cancer was successfully removed and I’m cancer free, but because I’m young, I need to make sure it never comes back, and giving up sugar is one of the things I’m trying to do but I feel like I need a really strong case and evidence to really commit myself to it. Rozane, can you give me some more info about what you’ve done food-wise and any info you’ve found please? I’m really interested in the insulin stuff.
    Denise, could you pass this message on to Rozane for me please? My email is laurapricey at yahoo dot co dot uk. Best wishes to all of you, Laura xx

  2. Denise, Thank you so much for including me in your blog. I am a walking talking testimony. This was my second go around with cancer Stage 0 the first time and 4 short years later stage IV. Now that I am cancer free I have learned to embrace life, enjoy it and truly go for what I want in life. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us. I recently shocked everyone at my job and went for a management position that I got and then within a month was promoted again. I have also learned not to take my family or myself for granted, I compliment someone everyday and smile often.

  3. I am not a cancer patient, thank God, but I love reading these stories of courage and survival. You ladies are awesome! I saw Denise’s story in LHJ, and had to read more. Prayers for all of you beautiful, brave women!!!

Leave a Reply

