Molecular Breast Imaging (MBI) Quadruples Detection of Breast Cancer in Women with Dense Breast Tissue

Molecular Breast Imaging (MBI) could save your life if you have dense breast tissue.  New studies were recently released that confirms that it is nearly four times as effective in detecting breast cancer in women with dense breast tissue:    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2015/01/150123101604.htm   NewTechnologySign I did not know this technology existed until about two months ago, even though it has been around for several years.  Not many hospitals have this technology.

On my Facebook page, I posted that Susan G. Komen of NW Ohio had grant money available in my area for uninsured or underinsured women for mammograms.  A friend saw the post.  Her husband lost his job, and they have been without health insurance for quite some time.  She had not had a mammogram in two years which greatly concerned her and found she was eligible for the mammogram.  At the small hospital where she had the mammogram, she was told she had extremely dense breast tissue. so they wanted her to go to a much larger hospital (Promedica Toledo Hospital) for Molecular Breast Imaging (MBI) which would also be funded by Susan G. Komen of NW Ohio.

My friend went for the test not knowing what to expect other than she was told dye would be injected into her bloodstream and mammograms would be taken with the dye present in her system.   Here is a good explanation of what occurs:    https://www.karmanos.org/?id=517&sid=1

My friend said the test consisted of four images and each one lasted seven minutes.  She said the hospital staff did many things to make her as comfortable as possible.  She indicated that you sit for the test (some technology has you lying down), they had a television and reading material while the test was being administered to help distract you.   The Radiologist told my friend that the previous mammograms she had since age 35 were virtually useless in her case because her breast tissue was so dense.   The Radiologist saw “a small spot” on the MBI and immediately gave her an ultrasound.  She finally got the “all clear” and the Radiologist told her after the test was completed, that she would need Molecular Breast Imaging (MBI) technology every year for breast cancer detection purposes.  My friend is so grateful that her care was not “short changed” because she was on a Komen grant.

In this video, Dr. Christine Granfield, a Radiologist, gives her view on Molecular Breast Imaging: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-1KIevhwao

So women with dense breast tissue, please take note of this test and pass the word to others!!  I’ve received so many emails from women with dense breast tissue that were not diagnosed until Stage 3 or Stage 4 because their tumors went undetected.  If you have ever been told you have breast dense tissue, I urge you to talk with your doctor and see if this technology is available near you.

_______________________________________

NEW HATS AND SCARVES ARRIVING DAILY at http://www.hellocourage.com    Please check them out!  CH-h4activitydenimred1CH-h4reversibleblackwhite2SC-hijabbrownorange1SC-orangefloral1 CH-h4STpastel1SC-DDbreastcancerinfinity

2 comments

  1. Dear Denise,

    Thank you so much for your blog.

    I have dense breast tissue and they missed catching my tumor for many, many years with routine mammograms. I found it myself through self exam, but it was stage 3 by then. Since then I’ve survived surgery, chemo, and radiation.

    I’ve had 3D mammograms and 3D ultrasounds since that time. Now, armed with the information from this article you posted, I plan on seeking out molecular breast imaging.

    Thank you for all you do,

    Valerie Fletcher

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

    • Hi Valerie, thank you SO MUCH for writing. I am so very sorry you had to find your own lump even after getting routine mammograms. It is definitely not uncommon. It is just heartbreaking, however.

      I’m so glad the article was helpful for you! I was amazed that all I read about breast cancer, I just discovered this technology! I hope it helps you, Valerie!

      My best, Denise

Leave a Reply

