Tired of Breast Cancer

A few weeks ago I had a dream that my Oncologist told me that he was tired of breast cancer and was becoming a Veterinarian.  I woke up chuckling and pondered “what did that dream mean?”

Well, it wasn’t too hard to figure it out – “I am tired of breast cancer.”  “IT” is all I have done for almost 5 years!  It took over my life, it became my life, and it still is my life.  I want to rid my life of it, but guess what, I can’t!

I’m stuck with all of it – myself, my mom, and my sister – all with breast cancer within 3 years and as you well know, it never goes away because there is always some medical appointment lurking.  Then there is writing my blog about what else – breast cancer. And then starting my online store http://www.hellocourage.com and the majority of my customers have breast cancer.

So what do you do when you are tired of something in your home?  I usually move the furniture first because that doesn’t cost any money!  Often, that makes me feel better and settles down those feelings of discontent.

What do you do when you are tired of your clothing?  Change it up, wear different combinations, buy a few new items?

If you are tired of your car but don’t have the money to buy a new one, you might get it washed inside and out, spray a new scent inside, and buy new car mats!

But I’m not quite sure what to do about being tired of breast cancer, are you?

 

 

 

 

 

10 comments

  1. My best suggestion is travel. I took my first overseas trip (to Morocco) for my 60th birthday. It was worth every hassle to do it. (I actually went back the next year. I wish I had been braver and had started traveling years earlier!) So save your money if possible and go somewhere! The planning, anticipation, and packing are as much a part of the “distraction” –I.e., fun– as the actual travel. And as I’ve read, “buy experiences not things.”

  2. I can’t imagine living with this albatross day in and day out. You have shown an immense amount of courage in your struggle, You have still found the time and energy to reach out to help others. You are such a blessing to so very many including your own family.
    Love,
    Aunt Marian

  3. I am barely one year post treatment….chemo, lumpectomy with lymph nodes removed, back to chemo and then radiation. Developed breast edema and had three months of PT, along with massage and compression binding at home. Now the edema is back. :(. I am so tired of all of this. Due for a mammo in the next month after oncologist appointment, and cannot even imagine how that will feel. I am so sore and swollen. My doctor told me that you never get over being scared. But when do you start just feeling better?

    It is so good to know I am not alone.

  4. I am not even a year post treatment yet. Had chemo, lumpectomy with lymph node removal, chemo again, and radiation. After several months, developed edema in breast and had two months of PT with massage and compression at home. Now the edema is back. I am so sore and swollen. Due for oncology and mammo appointment in a few weeks. Can’t even imagine how that will feel. So tired of not feeling good, and being constantly scared.

    It is so good to know I am not alone.

  5. I’ve reached the point that I rarely talk about cancer and try not to think about it. It recedes for a time and life goes on. I’m alive and Love my life and am so very grateful for all of its abundance!

  6. I’m so tired of it, too. Breast cancer twice in 17 years with a bout of endometrial cancer in between as a bonus. I don’t view it as being unfair — it just is what it is and you deal with it. However, I sure do think I deserve a break for awhile. I don’t have any special coping tips. All I can do is be grateful for every day I wake up and I count it as a good day. I have family and friends that love me and the most wonderful husband at my side so I know I am blessed. The worst part of my last diagnosis was having to tell my husband but he’s been a rock.

    I don’t know how the doctors deal with so much illness….takes a special kind of person I guess. My doc is kind and funny and wears a button with a photo of his two guinea pigs on it. I’m lucky to have had several of the best oncologists the Henry Ford system offers.

    My advice? Stay positive and do the things that make you happy.

    Blessed be.

    • Hi Karen – I am SO SORRY you have been through so much! Aren’t you tired of being an inspiration?
      Well, you are! LOVE your doctor and his guinea pig button! How funny! Sending all the best to you!!

  7. No not sure. I have had a recurrence it’s in my bones and 3 areas of lymph nodes. I’m in the midst of chemo again with only 2.5 yrs. since original breast cancer.
    Neuropathy strong in feet and hands. Hair loss once again. Thankfully no nausea, but dead taste buds…eating is no pleasure. Taxotere, perjeta, herceptin are the drugs I’m on.

  8. I have found that busy is good, but you are right every day is about “IT”. I find that I often busy myself talking, blogging or reaching out about “IT”. Keep going at “IT”. I believe together we will all make a difference.

Leave a Reply

